Pistachio Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Usually when I make Pork Tenderloin, I don’t really do a lot to it. I marinate it for a few hours in a mixture that includes orange juice and soy sauce and then roast it for about 45 minutes. I decided to change it up a bit last week and sneak in my new favourite spice, Cardamom (as well as a few other “C” spices). I think cardamom has such a distinct and delicious flavour. Not only that, but it has many health benefits as well. Being from the same family as ginger and turmeric, it has some anti-inflammatory properties and can be used to help with digestive issues. I’ve  also read that it can be used to help with coughs and colds, which I thought was interesting. In this recipe, I just added it to the sauce, but I think it really completes the dish.

Img 76 edit

1 Lbs Pork Tenderloin

2/3 Cups Pistachios, shelled

1 Tbsp Coriander

2 tsp Cumin

1 tsp Caraway

 

Sauce:

2 Oranges, juice only

2 Tbsp Orange marmalade

1/2 tsp Ground Cardamom

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Finely chop pistachios. Mix together with cumin, coriander and caraway. Roll tenderloin in pistachio mixture until well coated. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes until done. Remove from oven and let rest 5 minutes before slicing.

While the tenderloin is baking, whisk together orange juice, marmalade and cardamom in a small sauce pan. Over low heat simmer about 10 minutes until thickened. Serve over tenderloin.

Leave a Reply

