Turkey Meatloaf with Cranberry Sauce

With American Thanksgiving next week and Christmas just 5 weeks away (Yikes!), I’ve been seeing a lot of recipes lately to celebrate the season. I thought it was a perfect time to start working on some of the recipes I’ll be preparing this Christmas. I didn’t get to prepare a (Canadian) Thanksgiving dinner this year, as we went to my in-laws home, so I’m feeling a bit rusty. That’s what I’m telling myself anyway. I really just wanted an excuse to make and eat stuffing without roasting an entire turkey. With that in mind, I thought a turkey meatloaf would do the trick. I made the meatloaf using some of the flavours I usually include in my Thanksgiving and Christmas turkey; apple, sage and of course, cranberry sauce to finish it off.

It was delicious, even if the pictures weren’t the best. I was a little distracted by the other photographer in the room. My daughter sure likes to help make dinner, now if only she would eat it as well…….

 

Turkey Meatloaf with Cranberry Turkey Meatloaf w/ Cranberry and an extra photographer

Meatloaf:

1 1/2 Lbs ground turkey breast

3/4 Cup apple, diced

1/2 Cup shallot, diced

2 eggs, beaten lightly

3/4 Cup bread crumbs

1/3 Cup fresh sage, finely chopped

salt and pepper

 

Cranberry Sauce:

1 bag (340g) of fresh cranberries

1/2 Cup water

1/2 Cup maple syrup

2 cinnamon sticks

1 orange, sliced in rounds

 

For the meatloaf:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees farenheit.

In a mixing bowl combine the ground turkey, apple, shallot, sage, eggs, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper. Mix together until just combined. Place in a greased loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour until cooked through. Let rest for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.

 

For the cranberry sauce:

While the meatloaf is cooking, combine the cranberries, water, maple syrup, cinnamon and orange slices in a sauce pan. Simmer over low heat for 20 to 30 minutes until thickened. Remove orange slices and cinnamon sticks before serving.

 

 

Leave a Reply

