Orange and Pomegranate Sangria

Orange and Pomegranate Sangria

Orange and Pomegranate Sangria

 

My posts always strictly focus on a recipe, but with 2014 coming to a close, I thought it was important to reflect on the past year.

2014 marked the beginning of my little blog. To say it was a reluctant start would be an understatement. In fact, it was put together for me by my husband as a Christmas present last year. Over the fall I had been struggling to figure out what to do with my time once my daughter started to go to school full time. We’re still 1 1/2 years away, but I’m a planner and like to have things set well in advance. I was considering culinary school, but didn’t feel that would be very conducive to family life. After spending the past 6 years as a stay at home mom to two very busy kids, I couldn’t imagine going back to a desk job, either. Overall, I suppose I was feeling a bit lost or directionless. I knew I wanted to do something with food or cooking, but I just didn’t know what and I didn’t know where to start. So my husband, being the amazing man he is, set this blog up as a way to support me in my foodie dreams.

Until last year, I never considered writing a blog. I’m usually a very introverted person, so the idea of throwing myself out there to the world was downright frightening. At first I started out writing a post once a month and cringing every time I clicked the “publish” button. With the support of a few friends, I found myself slowly picking up a few followers here and there. I still wasn’t quite ready to throw my blog onto any social media platforms, it was just an outlet for me to think about food a bit. It was fun though, none the less. Then this past fall, I decided that I really needed to get over my introverted self and put myself out there a little bit more. I started a facebook page and a twitter account and found myself with several new followers. The positive feedback and support was incredible.

2014 was a year of incredible personal growth for me. For one, I’ve learned that hitting the “publish” button in wordpress isn’t going to cause the world to come to an end. But also, I’ve honed my cooking skills a bit and have become increasingly inspired to create new, interesting recipes. Though not usually one to make new year’s resolutions, I’ve set aside a few goals and am super excited about what the next year will bring.

This year I’ll be drinking Orange and Pomegranate Sangria to ring in the new year. I’ve included the recipe below. This recipe needs to be started at least 1 day ahead of time, but 2 days is even better. I wish you all the very best in 2015. Cheers!

Orange and Pomegranate Sangria

2 bottles dry red wine

2 Cups pomegranate juice

3 oranges, sliced

4 oz Grand Marnier

1 bottle Prosecco

Combine the red wine, pomegranate juice and orange slices in a large pitcher or bowl. Refrigerate for 1 – 2 days. Right before serving stir in the Grand Marnier and Prosecco. This recipe can easily be halved or doubled depending on the size of your party. Enjoy!

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

