Wine Poached Chicken

Wine Poached Chicken

Wine Poached Chicken

Please forgive me if I ramble a bit in this post. You see, the thing is, I’m heading to Vegas in a couple days and I’m feeling a little stressed about all the things that have to get done before I go, including packing for myself, nagging my husband to start packing his suitcase and packing for my two kids who are going to be staying with their grandparents. Woohoo!  A  lot of people would probably put their blog on the back burner for a few days, but I try to keep on a regular schedule with it and nothing bothers me more than having my schedule interrupted. My type A personality really shines through in moments like this 😉 As for the recipe, it’s one I’ve had in my little pink book for quite a while. The only reason I haven’t posted it because I wasn’t entirely pleased with the picture, but the recipe itself is delicious. And it’s really a combination of two of my favourite flavours; wine and lemon. I’m not sure that wine would be considered a flavour in itself, but it does add a lot of flavour to whatever you’re cooking. I love to add it to just about any recipe I can. Aside from the flavour addition, it justifies opening a bottle of wine any night of the week. It’s a win-win, really. But enough with the wine, let’s get to the lemon. I love lemon and will squeeze lemon juice onto just about anything. In this dish, it is by far the stand out flavour. It’s infused into every bite of the chicken and it’s outstanding. With all this delicious wine and lemony goodness going on, it’s easy to forget that this recipe comes together in about 30 minutes and is actually pretty healthy. Because wine is good for you, right? I hope you enjoy this recipe and the bottle of wine you’ll need to open to make it 😉

2 tbsp Avocado oil (or extra virgin olive oil)

1 small red onion, sliced

2 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

4 chicken breast halves

salt and pepper to season

3/4 Cup dry white wine

1  lemon, juice only

1/4 Cup fresh basil, thinly sliced

1/4 Cup pine nuts, toasted

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onions and garlic and saute for 1 – 2 minutes until beginning to sweat. Season the chicken breast with salt and pepper. Add the chicken to the skillet. Cook for about 5 minutes per side until nice and golden. Add the wine and lemon juice to the pan. Cover and simmer for about 15 minutes until the chicken in cooked through. Remove the chicken from the pan. Set it aside and cover it with foil to keep warm. Increase the heat. Simmer the remaining sauce for a few minutes to reduce. Once the sauce has reduced, remove it from the heat and toss in the basil. Serve the sauce over the chicken and top it all off with a few pine nuts.

 

10 Comments

  1. Your Wine Poached Chicken recipe sounds delicious. I love adding wine to chicken when cooking. Chicken can be bland and the wine adds a nice level of flavor. Thanks for sharing with Foodie Friends Friday party this weekend. Will pin/share.
    We look forward to seeing you again soon with another delicious recipe.

    A FFF co-host,
    Joanne/WineLady Cooks

Leave a Reply

