Roasted Cherry Salad with Maple Vinaigrette

Roasted Cherry Salad with Maple Vinaigrette

Roasted Cherry Salad with Maple Vinaigrette

This year all the berries and cherries are coming to the market ahead of their usual schedule. From strawberries in May, cherries at the beginning of June and blueberries this past week, it seems like everything is loving the early summer weather. I’ve got to say, I’m loving it to. I’m definitely a sun seeker and am usually more than ready for summer when it arrives. I get pretty excited about all the new produce in the market and find that the change of season brings new inspiration into my cooking. Kind of an “out with the old, in with the new” mentality when it comes to recipes. This recipe came about last week while I was trying to figure out a way to use up what was left of the cherries I had, as usual, over bought. I wanted something light and refreshing and remembered a time I had a roasted grape salad at a restaurant in town that, sadly, closed down a year or so ago. I was curious to see what would happen if I applied a similar idea to cherries. I expected them to taste a little bit sweeter, if anything, which didn’t really happen. They just developed a deeper flavour and tasted a little like red wine. Obviously, I didn’t need much more convincing to carry on with this recipe for roasted cherry salad with maple vinaigrette. I’m just surprised were enough cherries to make the salad after all the sampling I did. I hope you enjoy it!

 

1 Cup cherries

3 Cups mixed greens

1/4 Cup fresh sage, chopped

2 tbsp chives, sliced

1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted and cooled

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

3 tbsp maple syrup

pinch of salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit

Cut the cherries in half and remove the pit. Then place the cherries on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Place them in the oven and roast them for 15 – 20 minutes. Remove them from the oven and set aside to cool.

While the cherries are cooling, add the greens, sage, chives and almonds to a large salad bowl. In a separate small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, maple syrup and salt. Set aside.

Add the cooled cherries to the greens mixture and toss with the maple dressing right before serving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

26 Comments

  1. Jenny says:

    Wow, this sounds really refreshing. I have been eating a lot of salads since the weather got warmer. The roasted cherries sound interesting to try, and so does the maple syrup vinaigrette!

  2. Loretta says:

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday. What a great idea to roast those cherries for a salad. Those ingredients are lovely and fresh. I’ll have to give this a try.

  3. Angie says:

    Wow, roasted cherries!! That’s cool, Natalie! I’m planning to do more cherry-picking this weekend. Now it’s the sour cherries turn, last week was sweet. I’ve had so much!! ๐Ÿ™‚ But haven’t tried roasted yet.

    • They’re really delicious roasted, kind of “wine”y tasting, lol. I actually can’t say I’ve ever had sour cherries before, other than sweet ones that weren’t quite ready yet. I’ll have to try them.

      • Angie says:

        They’re mostly used for pies, jams, etc., but I’m going to try to dry them this time since I like those dried cherries on my salads. But you’ve given me another option with roasted ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  4. Hi Natalie,
    Love the idea of roasting the cherries. This is a wonderful recipe and love the vinaigrette dressing. I am sun person too, but we have been having so much rain- lots more rain than sun this past week.
    Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. Pinned & twitted.

    • Thank you! We’ve been having a crazy heat wave here. I love the sun, but if it cooled down just a few degrees I’d be ok with that, lol. We need some of your rain. My grass is all brown and dried. It’s not usually like that until August.

  5. Zamamabakes says:

    Natalie this salad sounds absolutely delicious, so many refreshing flavours in there.
    Thanks for joining in with our fabulous foodie Friday fun! Have a gorgeous week! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve never thought to roast cherries! I love that idea. It would definitely bring out their sweetness, and the maple vinaigrette would be amazing too. I am going crazy with all of the produce. I sure wish we could have it all year around.

    • I’m going pretty crazy with all the berries and cherries so far this year. They’ve all been coming to the market one right after the other. Usually they’re a bit more spaced out than that. I love this time of year ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

