Lemon Herb BBQ Chicken

Lemon Herb BBQ Chicken

Lemon Herb BBQ Chicken

Do you ever notice how opportunity comes knocking at the most in-opportune times? That’s sort of been my story over the past couple of weeks or so. Like most people, I think, I don’t like to pile too much on my plate (metaphorically, of course. If it’s an actual plate, I most definitely like to pile too much on it), but this past week my mentality has completely changed. I’ve decided that I’m probably actually capable of accomplishing way more than I give myself credit for. Sometimes I just need a little kick in the behind to get myself going. In the midst of trying to keep two little ones entertained over summer vacation and trying to keep up with the little bit of work I do on the side (usually when they’re at school), I’ve had a couple of new opportunities come my way. Initially, I thought I would become a completely stressed out, crazy mom/wife, but it turns out that having my own little thing going on has had the completely opposite effect. I’m completely reinvigorated and am surprisingly calm amidst the chaos. It’s true, the house has become a bit of a disaster, lately finding clean laundry is a challenge and dinners are usually thrown together at the last minute, but everyone is happy, which is really the point of it all. Tonight’s dinner was a last minute creation for some last minute guests. I had about 4 hours to throw something together and no time to get to the grocery store with all the other running around I needed to do. Using fresh herbs from my garden, lemon and garlic which are staples in my kitchen and a bit of chicken from my freezer, I was able to pull this Lemon Herb BBQ chicken together with delicious results. I hope you enjoy!

 

2 Lbs chicken drumsticks, skin removed

2 lemons, juice and zest

1/4 Cup extra virgin olive oil

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 Cup fresh basil, chopped

1/4 Cup fresh oregano, chopped

salt and pepper

Place the drumsticks, single layer, in a shallow baking dish. In a small bowl, whisk together all the remaining ingredients. Pour the mixture over the chicken. Cover and refrigerate for 2 to 4 hours.

Place on a preheated, greased grill and cook for 25 to 30 minutes until the juices run clear.

 

 

 

 

 

23 Comments

  1. Mandi says:

    I must say, I’ve never been a fan of “traditional” bbq sauce which is thick, sweet and clingy – have always much preferred using other fresher flavours and putting them straight on the grill – love this!!

  2. petra08 says:

    Everyday admin is always a challenge but it sounds like you are in an exciting place πŸ™‚
    Love chicken, love lemons and herbs as well just sounds like a perfect dinner to me and it would make me pile my food high on the plate!

  3. Pingback: Lemon Herb BBQ Chicken | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  4. Pingback: Fabulous Foodie Fridays #60 - Create Bake Make

Leave a Reply

