Apple Sangria

Apple Sangria

This fall, I’ve been obsessed with apples and have been enjoying them more than I ever have before. I’ve found myself trying to incorporate them into as many different recipes as possible, but this recipe for Apple Sangria might just be the best idea I’ve had yet. I created this recipe two weeks ago for Thanksgiving dinner at my sister-in-laws house. Most guests would typically show up with dessert or an appy to share, but not me. I’m the family member that shows up with three jugs of sangria. Some would argue that that might make me the favourite 😉 I brought a tomato zucchini casserole to share, as well, but the sangria was the star for sure.

Typically from Spain or Portugal, sangria is usually made with red wine, a sweetener, cut up fruit and finished with a splash of brandy. For this recipe, I decided to use the same basic method, but used white wine instead. I also added a couple little extras to change things up a bit. When you go to make this (and I promise, you’ll want to) you don’t need to spend a lot on the bottle of wine. You’re going to be playing around with it, so just choose something that’s inexpensive, but that you still enjoy the taste of. Also, sangria takes time to allow the flavours to blend together. I like to leave it for at least 24 hours, but 48 hours is even better. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

2 apples, sliced

1 handful of fresh sage

1 bottle of white wine (I used Sauvignon Blanc)

1 Cup apple juice

1 oz brandy

1 Cup sparkling wine

In a large pitcher, toss in the apples and sage. Add the white wine and apple juice and gently stir it all together. Cover and refrigerate for at least 24 hours. Just before serving, gently stir in the brandy and sparkling wine.

This week I’ll be sharing this recipe at the Fiesta Friday blog party and Fabulous Foodie Fridays. Join me in checking out some truly delicious recipes.

 

31 Comments

    • Thank you! Great minds think alike, lol. I had to seatbelt the jugs into one of the seats on the drive to their house. It was probably the slowest, most cautious drive I’ve ever made, lol.

  1. Marla says:

    Hi Natalie,
    This would be wonderful idea for company – sounds so refreshing and healthy. Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. Pinned & tweeted!

  2. Kaila says:

    Yum! I have so many apples around, and I may jut have to try this. I’ve only had sangria with red wine before, but this recipe sounds delicious as well. I love how you brought sage into this dish. I’m sure it’ll be a hit at the fiesta this week. Happy FF, and I hope you have a fabulous weekend.

  3. This looks fantastic! I was looking through old pictures today and saw a pic of me and some friends eating the fruit from a pitcher of sangria that we made a while back, and I thought “hmm, I need to make sangria again.” Thanks for reading my mind and posting such a great recipe! Happy FF!

  4. Pingback: A delicious look back at the top 10 posts from 2015 | Kitchen, uncorked

  5. Pingback: A delicious look back at the top 10 posts from 2015 - Kitchen, Uncorked

Leave a comment