Bacony Kale Eggs Benny

Bacony Kale Eggs Benny

Over the past month or so, I’ve been having a little love affair with poached eggs. It all started in April, when I was away on vacation. I had an amazing corned beef hash with a poached egg on top. The entire breakfast was delicious, but for some reason the poached egg stuck with me and I’ve been craving them ever since. I would think that an eggs benny (or more formally, eggs benedict) would be one of the more popular ways to serve a poached egg and since I never shy away from a good eggs benny, that seemed like the most appropriate way to get my poached egg fix.

A traditional benny consists of an english muffin topped with ham, a poached egg and hollandaise sauce, and while that’s always good, it’s fun to play around and try new ways to make them. You’re limited only by your taste buds and imagination. Honestly, if someone created an eggs benny buffet with several different variations, I would be in heaven and I may never leave. I love them that much. Here’s the eggs benny I came up with to deal with my poached egg addiction. What are some of your favourite variations?

3 slices of bacon, thinly sliced

1/4 Cup onion, diced

2 Cups kale, roughly chopped

2 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

1 Cup heavy cream

1/2 Cup feta cheese crumbles

1 tbsp garlic chives (onion chives would work, too)

water

1 tbsp white vinegar

4 eggs

2 english muffins

With this recipe, I felt like there was a lot going on. A lot of steps and pots and pans, etc. The best way to approach it, is to space the steps out a little bit. You don’t need to make everything at once. I don’t like to feel stressed out or panicky when I’m cooking. The kitchen is my happy place, where I like to listen to music and dance around a little bit, so I try to make and create recipes accordingly. So, with that in mind, here we go:

In a skillet, over medium heat begin frying the bacon. When it’s mostly cooked through, but before it begins to crisp, add in the onions. Cook until the onions are translucent and the bacon is crisp. Add in the kale and saute for just a couple of minutes, then stir in the lemon juice, salt and pepper. Remove from the heat and set aside.

In a small saucepan, begin heating the cream over medium heat. Stir in the feta. Continue stirring until the feta is melted into the cream and the whole mixture has thickened. You may need to mash the feta a little if it doesn’t melt in easily. Stir in the chives, then remove the pot from the heat and set aside.

Break each of the eggs into a separate bowl or ramekin. Fill a skillet with at least 1 inch of water and stir in 1 tbsp of vinegar. Heat the water over medium heat until it reaches a gentle simmer. Slowly and carefully pour each of the eggs into the water, leaving some room between them. You may need to cook them in separate batches, depending on the size of your pan. Cook the eggs for 6 minutes before carefully removing them with a slotted spoon or ladle.

While the eggs are cooking, toast the muffins and warm up the kale and cream. Place a scoop of the kale mixture on top of each muffin half, followed by the egg and then the cream. Garnish with extra chives.

Note: The cooking time for the poached eggs is entirely up to your preference. I found 6 minutes gave me a perfectly runny egg, but not too runny. If you like your eggs firmer, cook them a minute or two longer. Or less, if you like really runny eggs.

 

 

 

13 Comments

  1. Eggs Benny – that’s funny! Actually I like it πŸ™‚ Sounds like a great recipe and healthy too. Thanks so much for bringing these eggs to Fiesta Friday – I know there are a bunch of bloggers who are drooling over these πŸ™‚

  2. I love eggs benedict, and yours looks like a fantastic recipe!! I agree with you, the kitchen is a happy place, and I don’t like to be stressed when I’m cooking either πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday! Pinned, yummed, and stumbled πŸ™‚

  3. Whisked Away says:

    I’ve never attempted to make an egg benedict (or benny :), but this looks absolutely delicious and I think it’s about time I give it a try! I mean, if it’s got feta then you know it’s gonna be good…

    • I only learned how to poach an egg over the last couple of months. I always knew the steps involved, just never got up the nerve to try it myself, lol. Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comment πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Natalie,
    Eggs are good for you and I love the idea of adding the bacon. Sounds like a tasty healthy breakfast or any time dish. Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. Have a healthy happy blessed Memorial Day. Pinned & twitted.

Leave a Reply

